Soaring Eagles


Dato’ Wira Chor, Minister of Housing and Local Government (center) with Julie Wong, Past President of MIEA together with the 2008 award winners.

They brave the sun and rain; they scale the heights and even seas just to hand details or documents concerning the property to their clients.

These are real estate agents and negotiators that run on the field to connect you not to a house but a home, not an office but a business, not a factory but an operation.

Theirs is a job of conviction, carried out not so much for the profit although it is their bread and butter. What they are proud of is the satisfactory look their clients give them at the end of the day.

They are the exemplary real estate professionals whose efforts and contributions to the real estate fraternity will be recognized, and will not go unnoticed.

The 3rd Malaysian Institute of Estate Agents (MIEA) National Real Estate Awards 2011 will see outstanding individuals and agencies awarded for their excellent achievements and quality service. Its theme Where Eagles Soar aptly sums up the tenacity of the profession rising above present challenges and circumstances.

Recognition of excellence.

(From left): David Ong, Dato’ Alan Tong and Julie Wong.

Datuk Ravindra Dass

David Ong, Founder and President of Reapfield Group of Companies.

Govindasamy Balaguru, Principal of GDS Properties.

Previndran Dato’ Sathurgasinghe Founder and CEO of Zerin Properties

Noor Sharina Tham Abdullah, Principal of Hartanah Consultants.

An independent panel of judges, ranging from Non-Governmental Organizations, associations to leading business personalities, will scrutinize entries from nine categories based on 2010’s performances.

The Awards also see an expansion to include other states such as Penang, Perak, Johor, Sabah and Sarawak for one of its categories.

Who will don the crowning glory this year? Award winners will be revealed at MIEA’s 34th Annual Dinner, to be held at the Grand Dorsett Subang Hotel, Kuala Lumpur on Sept 23.

Recipients of the 2009 Awards

In 2010, MIEA honored three astounding individuals comprising two real estate agents and one leader who was and still is reputed for his contribution in the real estate fraternity.

Real Estate Agent of the Year

Founder and President of Reapfield Group of Companies David Ong was conferred the Real Estate Agent of Year 2009. Under the leadership and guidance of David, Reapfield concluded an astounding 4,707 transactions which amounted to RM2.16 billion in sales value.

Specialized Category Award

Previndran Dato’ Sathurgasinghe, Founder and CEO of Zerin Properties was the winner of Specialized Category Award 2009. His organization secured a joint venture agreement between two parties to roll out 44 hotels in Asia valued at RM688 million.

MIEA Leadership Award

Datuk Ravindra Dass was awarded the MIEA Leadership Award 2009. Fondly known as the ‘Architect’ of the Real Estate, he is responsible for the inclusion of Estate Agency Practice as part of the Board of Valuers & Appraisers then.

One of the notable contributions is his pioneering spirit and idea to regulate the profession, and thus, instrumental in enactment of The Real Estate Agents Act in 1981.

Recipient of the 2008 Awards

In 2009, five outstanding individuals were awarded for their exemplary achievement and contribution in the real estate industry at the inaugural National Real Estate Awards 2008. These individuals shone with excellence despite the gloomy Global Financial Crisis in 2008, displaying resiliency and exemplary achievement in the real estate.

Real Estate Agency of the Year

Displaying nothing short of excellence, Reapfield Group of Companies was bestowed the Real Estate Agency of the Year. Established in 1984, the Group grew from its humble beginnings to become one of the largest real estate agencies at that time with 523 negotiators and 13 offices nationwide.

It also has international affiliation with NAI Global, which is a premier network of independent commercial real estate firms and one of the largest commercial real estate service providers worldwide.

Commercial Agency of the Year

GDS Properties was conferred the Commercial Agency of the Year. Govindasamy Balaguru, Principal of GDS Properties, successfully transacted several commercial properties in the likes of a shopping complex in Petaling Jaya and Wisma Leopad in PJ8 Office Tower, just to name a few, despite the gloomy crisis.

In the span of his career, he has successfully marketed projects worth more than RM50 million.

Real Estate Agent of the Year

Previn was also crowned the Real Estate Agent of the Year. Recognized for his entrepreneurship, his passion is in the corporate real estate and hospitality sector.

He is also one of the firsts to have taken a Malaysian brand estate agency overseas and has offices in Sydney, Singapore and New Delhi.

Specialized Category Award

Noor Sharina Tham Abdullah, Principal of Hartanah Consultants was awarded the Specialized Category Award. Her specialties lie in her abilities to seal beyond conventional real estate transactions.

In the course of her career, she helped to negotiate factories, offices, buildings including floating vessels across continents like Seychelles, South Africa and Beirut in Lebanon, among others. Photo:

MIEA Leadership Award

The MIEA Leadership Award was conferred to Dato’ Abdul Rahim Rahman, who is the Executive Chairman of Rahim & Co Chartered Surveyors Sdn Bhd.

A man with 40 over years’ of knowledge and experience in the fraternity wore many presidential hats in various real estate organizations.

His proudest moment and Malaysia’s of course, was when he became the first Malaysian to hold the position as FIABCI’s Deputy World President (1990-1992). He also holds the FIABCI Medal of Honor. 

Dato’ Rahim Abdul Rahman receiving the award.